Jeanine Basinger

Jeanine Basinger is the Corwin-Fuller Professor of Film Studies, founder and curator of the Wesleyan Cinema Archives, founding Chair of the Film Studies Department and a 1996 and 2013 recipient of Wesleyan’s Binswanger Prize for Excellence in Teaching.  Her book, Silent Stars (Wesleyan 2001), won the National Board of Review’s William K. Everson Prize and her most recent book, The Star Machine, published by Knopf, 2007, won the Theatre Library Association Award.  She is the author of numerous articles and book reviews in such publications as The New York TimesAmerican Film, Film QuarterlyThe Wall Street Journal and Opera News, as well as ten books on film including A Woman’s View: How Hollywood Spoke to Women 1930-1960 (Wesleyan, 1995); The World War II Combat Film: Anatomy of a Genre (Wesleyan, 2003); and Anthony Mann: A Critical Study (Wesleyan, 2007).  Her newest and eleventh book, I Do and I Don’t:  A History of Marriage in the Movies, was published by Knopf in January 2013. Professor Basinger is a trustee of the National Board of Review, a trustee of the American Film Institute, a current member of Warner Brothers Theatre Advisory Committee at the Smithsonian Institute, and a former member of the Board of Advisors of the Association of Independent Video and Filmmakers.  She served as advisor to Martin Scorsese’s film foundation project, The Story of Movies; co-produced an American Masters episode on Clint Eastwood, and was head consultant on the PBS special American Cinema: 100 years of Filmmaking for which she also wrote the companion book.  A nationally recognized expert on various aspects of American film she has consulted on numerous film documentaries and projects funded by both NEA and NEH.  She participated on camera in the Turner Classic Movies production of Moguls and Movie Stars: A History of Hollywood (2010).  Professor Basinger was the recipient of the Connecticut Governor’s Award for her contribution to Film and the Arts in November 2006. She was also awarded an honorary degree by the American Film Institute in June of 2006—the first time it was awarded to an academic—for her contribution to film studies and for the number of her students who work in the field. As founder of the Wesleyan Cinema Archives, Basinger is responsible for overseeing the care of papers from some of film history’s most significant names, both then and now:  Frank Capra, Clint Eastwood, Elia Kazan, Ingrid Bergman, Martin Scorsese, John Waters, Raoul Walsh and Jonathan Demme. Her former students include such directors as Joss Whedon, Miguel Arteta, Paul Weitz, Michael Bay and Jon Turteltaub; writers Steven Schiff, Akiva Goldsman and Bruce Eric Kaplan; actors Dana Delany and Bradley Whitford; producers Laurence Mark, Paul Schiff, Matt Greenfield, Alex Kurtzman, Matthew Weiner, Marc Shmuger, and many more.